Stopping Crime Before It Happens at Annual Crime Prevention Conference

In News by SCM Admin

MISSISSAUGA, ON. – Over a hundred crime prevention practitioners, community organizations, and school board professionals came out to Safe City Mississauga’s Annual Crime Prevention Conference on November 4th, 2016 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga.

The annual crime prevention conference is presented by Safe City Mississauga and supported by Peel Regional Police. The conference gathers police, government officials, social workers, crime prevention practitioners and non-governmental organizations to discuss best practices for crime prevention, and to determine how to implement these practices in making our communities safer.

“Education is the key to preventing crime” said Sheena Moya Chen, Executive Director, Safe City Mississauga. “The purpose of the conference is to provide a forum where attendees can discuss common risk factors regarding crime, and best practices, relating to successful ways to reduce crime and prevent victimization.”.

The theme for this year’s conference was: Harnessing the Evidence, Harnessing what Works.

With Keynote Address by Leo Barbe, Founder of Think, Don’t Shoot and Morning Address by Julie Lalonde, Campaign Manager, DRAW-the-Line. Breakout Speakers included: Jessica Noble & Cyril Codwell, YouthREX; Constable Christopher French & Constable Joy Brown, Peel Regional Police; Constable Gregory O’Connor, Peel Regional Police; Anita Roodal & Julie McCarthy, Associated Youth Services of Peel; Karen Grant-Cater, Our Place Peel and Francisco Rico, FCJ Refugee Centre.

Opening Remarks were provided by Madame Mayor Bonnie Crombie; Chief Jennifer Evans, Peel Regional Police; and Linden King, Conference Chair, Board of Directors, Safe City Mississauga.

The 2016 Mississauga Heros were also awarded at the Conference. Founding Partner and Award Sponsor, Bell’s Regional Director, Ms. Lena DeMarco presented the awards to an Individual, Organization and Youth in Mississauga who have made an extraordinary contribution to preventing crime in their community.

This year’s award winners are as follows:

  • Individual Hero Award: Sreshta Rout is a Neighbourhood Watch Coordinator in charge of the Southfork Drive and Brookwood Court Watch Group. She has shown tremendous influence in making her neighbourhood a safer place, and going above and beyond the call of duty.
  • Organization Hero Award: Erin Mills Youth Centre is a non-profit organization that puts emphasis on Engaging Youth and creating positive adult-youth partnerships that affirm the capacity and contributions of youth.
  • Bell Youth Hero Award: Alice Mu has been a Peer Youth Worker at Nexus Youth Services for the past two years. In this position Alice is responsible for ensuring youth feel welcome, safe and heard in the space. She has made considerable efforts to hear the needs of the youth she interacts with in order to connect them with the resources they need.